Let's Read Asia ☀️

3

Hi there,

This page is dedicated to my personal challenge to read a book from every country in Asia.

As of this writing, Asia has 51 countries (49 recognized by UN). Each of them diverse and beautiful in its own way and I want to read all about them through fiction.

I am Filipino but I am ashamed to admit that much of my reading is American influenced. When I joined Bookstagram, I was introduced to Japanese literature and I was amazed at how unique those books were plot-wise. I was mind blown when I learned how other people in other parts of the world lived. I was fascinated how different yet similar my Filipino culture is to its neighbors. Thus, this idea of reading through Asia was born.

This idea is not new but is heavily inspired by Martha’s Map, Nicole’s Reading Through Africa, and Jack’s Asia video.

How this works

📚 Like all reading challenges of this type, I aim to read every book from all Asian countries. I will list all of the books from that country below. This challenge will have no definite timeline.

📚 The books listed here will not always be originally written in the country’s home language. My primary qualification is that the book must be set in the said country.

📚 If the book is set in two countries, I will put it in both countries.

📚 Because of diaspora, an Asian lit author need not to be born in Asia nor still resides in Asia to be included in this list. However, they must be of Asian descent. Additionally, many countries in Asia speak and write multiple languages, including English, and I didn’t want to discount an Asian writer who identifies as one just because they wrote and published in the English language.

📚 I will link the books I read wherever I mentioned them in this newsletter. Some books may not be linked because I don’t always post about a book I read.

📚 This page will also serve as a reference to anybody else wanting to read more about Asia.

📚 Current tally account will be posted here as well (6/51 countries).

📚 If you have any recommendations, please comment them down below. I would love to hear them!

Asian Countries Listed Alphabetically

A

Afghanistan

  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

Armenia

Azerbaijan

B

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Bhutan

Brunei

C

Cambodia

China

Cyprus

G

Georgia

H

Hong Kong

I

India

Indonesia

Iran

Iraq

Israel

J

Japan

Jordan

K

Kazakhstan

Kuwait

Kyrgyzstan

L

Laos

Lebanon

M

Malaysia

Maldives

Mongolia

Myanmar

N

Nepal

North Korea

O

Oman

P

Pakistan

Palestine

Philippines

Q

Qatar

R

Russia

S

Saudi Arabia

Singapore

South Korea

Sri Lanka

Syria

T

Taiwan

Tajikistan

Thailand

Timor-Leste

Turkey

Turkmenistan

U

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

Uzbekistan

V

Vietnam

Y

Yemen